Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
The marvelous Reeves Pheasant
My experience with this bird is limited to one full skin plus tail.  So I am no expert.  When I purchased it, even with my budget,  it seemed inexpensive.  The body was full of opportunities and the tail in particular worked for me (it married well).  I love the distinctive variety of chocolaty colors found through out.  Even the wonderful Argus Pheasant comes in second place in that regard.  It is a good consideration as a material for those looking for earth tone colors in their work .  Each of these flies showcase parts of the Reeves bird that have a hard to duplicate color that is a mix of tomato/cinnamon/ and chocolate.  The color of a dark mole sauce in Mexican cuisine comes to mind.

The first is a Blackeresque fly that uses uses Reeves Pheasant as a leading actor in the tailing, veiling, hackle, and main wing. I'm sorry that I did such a cob job cropping  such a quality hook.

The second is a size 8 low water wet with Reeves as the main wing.  It plays well with the color of the sprigs of GP tippet under wing

The last is an earlier effort that uses Reeves tail feathers ( along with a slice of Argus) in the tail assembly.  It's also used in the keel

This is one of the many extraordinary materials you will not find in classic asf tying.  Worth a look 

dave

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Nice trio Dave. I agree, there are a number of wonderful "common" birds that are too often overlooked for reasons I can't understand. Like you, I try to use not rare but very cool feathers. Were I requested, I like these flies in the order presented. Thanks ol boy!!!
Happy Trails!

Ronn Lucas, Sr.
ronnlucassr.com
ronn@ronnlucassr.com
That center section in the tail on the 3rd is special. Dig the bushy head too. I dont remember ever seeing that fly. Man, that is good stuff.
no2 was made by gucci.
all gold and tones and more gold.

cheers,
shawn